Infinite Culture

Music. Art. Culture. Writing.

ICArtistSeries: Eric B Ricks

Talked with painter and muralist Eric B Ricks over the weekend while he was working on a new project at The Rhythm Lab. A survivor of the war in Liberia, Eric has been in Portland and painting for seven years.

“The more you do it the more it comes to life. I paint because I have to, because I’m slightly obsessed with the medium and what’s possible, and obsessed with learning because the more I evolve the better I become. I’m amazed by the magic, and I find I’m not trying… it’s more effortless over time and I’m learning to get out of my own way and let it happen.

“[The work] pays me but I don’t know how it happens. It’s not the money. The more I get into it it’s philosophy, it’s life. There’s so much to this thing, and I know that that sometimes you get out of it what you are looking for, but it’s more than just the act of painting. It’s poetry, it’s philosophy, it’s magic, it’s life. It’s being patient enough to do it and almost constantly pay attention to something move in millimeters. You have to be so attentive in order to see it move. That’s why you have to do it so much in order to grow. You have to be obsessed. And right now I have to do it because I’m so interested in it and I want to see what I can do in my lifetime.”

Mural in progress at The Rhythm Lab in Portland, OR.

Mural in progress at The Rhythm Lab in Portland, OR.

2 comments on “ICArtistSeries: Eric B Ricks

  1. ferryride
    February 26, 2015

    Wow. Thanks for sharing his work and his philosophy. It’s inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2015 by in Art, Artist Interviews and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to Infinite Culture and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Notice

All content on Infinite Culture, unless noted otherwise, is copyright © 2016 Rafael Otto. All rights reserved.
