Infinite Culture

Music. Art. Culture. Writing.

ICArtistSeries: Poncho Sanchez

Poncho Sanchez on learning to play congas listening to Cal Tjader and Tito Puente records: Myself and Ramon Banda we went to a local park here in Los Angeles called Griffith Park. Because we heard a bunch of conga players hang out there on Sunday. So we went up the hill with the congas and all that, and sure enough there were Cubans and Puerto Ricans and they were playing nice, some nice rumbas, singing and chants. So I went up to the guy and I said, “Hey man, can I sit in next?” And he said, “Tú eres Cubano? Are you Cuban?” And I said, “No.” Then he said, “Are you Puerto Rican? Tú eres puertorriqueño?” And I said, “No.” So he said, “What are you?” And I told him, “I’m a Mexican-American, I’m Chicano.” So he goes, “Chicanos can’t play congas!” He kept on playing and I said, “How do you know? You haven’t heard me yet!

Backstage at Centennial Hall in Tucson, AZ.

Backstage at Centennial Hall in Tucson, AZ.

Live at Centennial Hall in Tucson, AZ.

Live at Centennial Hall in Tucson, AZ.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2015 by in Artist Interviews, Music and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to Infinite Culture and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Notice

All content on Infinite Culture, unless noted otherwise, is copyright © 2016 Rafael Otto. All rights reserved.
